ASA Tanzania has branches in 8 regions (Dar es salaam, Morogoro, Tanga, Kilimanjaro, Arusha, Mwanza, Pwani and Zanzibar) with the largest number of branches in Dar es salaam. ASA Tanzania is indirectly wholly owned by ASA International.

Tanzania, officially the United Republic of Tanzania, is a relatively large country in East Africa that shares its borders with many countries, including Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Zambia, Malawi, Mozambique, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo. The name Tanzania itself derives from the country's two states, Zanzibar and Tanganyika. Tanzania has a population of 45 million people according to 2012 census and 885,800 square kilometres of land.

Population demographics
Source: Census 2012, Economic Statistics 2018

Total population


Below poverty line



70.3 %


29.6 %

Microfinance demographics
Source: Bank of Tanzania (BOT) and National Bureau of Statistics(NBS)

Estimated # of MF clients / potential


Currently served

12 m

Served / penetration

50 %